Our Team


The Improvement Foundation employs a team of highly skilled staff that come together from a diverse range of backgrounds. With their proven experience and expertise, they contribute to make the Improvement Foundation a professional and highly effective organisation.

CFrick BWColin Frick, Chief Executive Officer
Colin commenced with the Improvement Foundation in 2007 and has significant senior management experience including responsibility for managing large budgets and working within complex organisations with diverse stakeholder involvement. Colin was previously the General Manager for the Australian National Primary Care Collaborative (NPCC) Program and has been trained by the UK Improvement Foundation in the Collaborative methodology.


DaleFord BWDr Dale Ford, Principal Clinical Advisor 
Dale has trained in the Collaborative methodology and quality improvement techniques in the UK and the US and has presented extensively throughout Australia, New Zealand, Asia, and Europe. Dale is a GP and also a member of the Quality and Safety Commission’s Primary Care Committee.



SWrz BWSarah Powell, General Manager
Sarah has significant experience in designing, implementing and supporting the delivery of various improvement projects throughout Australia and overseas. She has developed and delivered a number of quality improvement training packages for front line managers, aligning the training to meet Australian Quality Training Framework standards.  Sarah has worked on the Australian Primary Care Collaboratives Program  and implemented the first program round in Australia.

Our Board 

DWright2 BWDavid Wright – Chairman
David Wright has been the Chair of the Improvement Foundation Board since 2006. He consults in health care internationally. He is a registered international expert on health care systems  improvement with the WHO, the European Commission and the International Society for Quality in Healthcare. David has held positions with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, Australian General Practice Accreditation Limited and Quality in Practice.

Claire Caesar – Board Secretary 

Claire helped to establish the Improvement Foundation in Australia in 2006. Claire has worked in the health and community welfare field for more than two decades.

Ruth Kennedy – Director
Ruth has over 25 years of leadership and management experience in the National Health Service (NHS) UK, and within the private sector. Ruth co-founded and established both the Improvement Foundation UK, and the Improvement Foundation Australia, in 2006.

Rosey Batt
Rosey is a qualified lawyer and has extensive commercial legal experience acting and currently holds positions on a number of Private and Public Sector Boards.

The Finance, Audit and Risk Management (FARM) Committee
Established by the Board in early 2010, the FARM Committee consists of three members; Bruce Thomas, Chair, John Mortimore and David Wright. The responsibilities of the Committee are: financial governance, external reporting and financial statement compliance, reviewing and recommending internal audits, risk management, external auditing.

Key Consultants

Tony Lembke, Clinical Consultant
Tony was the Clinical Director for the Australian Primary Care Collaboratives Program since 2007 and inaugural Clinical Lead for the eCollaboratives Program since 2011. Tony is currently a member of the Australian Primary Care Collaboratives Quality Improvement Programs Advisory Group.

Dr Andrew Knight, Clinical  Consultant
Andrew was a clinical consultant to the Australian Primary Care Collaboratives Program, and is a leading author on several internationally and nationally published peer reviewed journal articles.

Level 8, 19 Grenfell St Adelaide SA 5000 | PO Box 3645
T: (08) 8422 7400 | TOLL FREE (within Aust): 1800 771 522 | F: 08 8231 6690 | E: enquiries@improve.org.au

The Improvement Foundation acknowledges the Traditional Custodians past and present on whose land we walk and we live.

TQCSI Quality Certified